Attymass and Kilgarvan were important to our ancestors, they were baptized, married, and worshipped in the church of The Immaculate Conception and St. Joseph, Attymass and were buried in Kilgarvan graveyard.
Descriptions of Attymass and Kilgarvan copied from “A Topographical Dictionary of Mayo” by Samuel Lewis, 1837 and “Ordnance Survey Field Name Books, 1838”
A parish, in the barony of Gallen, county of Mayo, and province of Connaught, 3½ miles (N.) from Foxford; containing 3,276 inhabitants.
This parish is bounded on the south by the river Moy, and on the east by the Ox mountains. The lands are chiefly under tillage, but the system of agriculture is not in a very improved state; there are large tracts of wasteland, which are chiefly irreclaimable bog and mountain. Freestone abounds, but limestone is rather scarce, being found only in some parts of the parish.
The surface is interspersed with several lakes, which being surrounded with mountains have a beautifully picturesque appearance. Fairs are held at Bonnefinglass on May 24th, July 7th, Nov. 15th, and Dec. 15th.
The living is a vicarage, in the diocese of Killala, and forms part of the union of Ardagh; the rectory is impropriate in Sir W.H.Palmer, Bart. The tithes amount to £180.7.6, which is equally divided between the impropriator and the vicar.
The R.C. parish is co-extensive with that of the Established Church; the chapel is a neat slated building. There are three hedge schools, in which are about 150 boys and 100 girls. On the edge of a lake at Kildermot is a picturesque ruin of an ancient convent.
Extract from Early Marriage records Attymass Church
Extract from Early Baptismal records Attymass Church
A parish, in the barony of Gallen, county of Mayo, and province of Connaught, 5 miles (E.S.E.) from Ballina, on the road from that place to Boyle; containing 4230 inhabitants.
This parish includes part of the Ox mountains and a considerable trace of reclaimable bog. It also contains limestone, and lead mines are supposed to exist.
Fairs are held at Bonniconlon, or O’Dowda’s-town, on the 13th of May, June, and Aug., and Nov. 2nd.
That village consists of one street, and is a constabulary police station; it is an improving place, and a weekly market is about to be established in it.
The principal seats are O’Dowda’s-town, the residence of Thaddeus O’Dowda, Esq.; Rabbit Hill, of M. Howley, Esq.; Ella, of E. Howley, Esq.; Sallymount, of L. Atkinson, Esq.; and Bowfield, of E. Howley, Esq.
The parish is in the diocese of Killala; the rectory is impropriate in Sir. W.H. Palmer, Bart., and the vicarage forms part of the union of Ardagh; the tithes amount to £281.17.9, which is equally divided between the impropriator and the vicar.
The R.C. parish is co-extensive with that of the Established Church; the chapel at O’Dowda’s-town is a slated building erected in 1800, and is about to be rebuilt.
About 140 children are educated in two schools, one of which is aided by subscription. Here are several raths and an ancient burial-ground.